KING KONG. Hollywood at its Best.


                 KING KONG

    When Hollywood’s finger was on the pulse of this country, they made movies.

     I almost pass out from sheer excitement whenever I remember this. Carl Denham’s invite to the adventure extraordinaire is beyond fabulous. Now that’s my idea of Sleeping Beauty’s prince. Screw the slipper and the party it rode in on.
 
It’s around midnight. Carl Denham (Robert Armstrong), filmmaker and entrepreneur, leaves his ship waiting in the harbor in Hoboken ready to sail and still doesn’t have a girl for the new movie. He hits the streets of New York, and bumps into Ann (Fay Wray). She’s starving, out of work, and just tried stealing an apple from a fruit stand. The Greek produce guy nabs her and Denham’s up for the rescue.
 
From the original script 1933 KING KONG. What a feast.
                                   GREEK
I had enough dese stealers —
DENHAM
Oh, dry up. The kid didn’t take
anything.

ANN
I didn’t, truly I didn’t.

DENHAM
So, shut up, Socrates. Here’s a
dollar. Forget it.

The Greek takes the money and releases Ann who stumbles back
against Denham. He catches her round the shoulders and she
half-collapses. Her head falls back on his arm. He has his
first sight of her face.

CLOSE UP Ann, her eyes open as she looks up at Denham,
terrified.

MEDIUM SHOT – Denham, holding Ann. He looks at her. Suddenly
his face lights up, he snaps his fingers triumphantly.

DENHAM
(looking up the street)
Hi! Taxi!

DISSOLVE TO a one-armed lunch room. Tiled wall, two chairs.
Ann has emptied plate and coffee mug on arm of her chair.
Denham in other chair watching her. She sighs happily over
having satisfied her hunger, and leans back.

DENHAM
Feeling better?

ANN
Yes, thank you. You’re very kind.

DENHAM
Don’t fool yourself. I’m not
bothering with you just out of
kindness.
(Ann opens her eyes wide,
half-puzzled, half
afraid)
How come you’re in this fix?

ANN
Bad luck I guess. There are lots of
girls just like me.
                                   DENHAM
There aren’t such a lot who’ve got
your looks.ANN
(laughing it off)
Oh, I can get by in good clothes.
But when a girl gets too shabby —

DENHAM
No family?

ANN
I’m supposed to have an uncle
somewhere.

DENHAM
Ever do any acting?

ANN
I used to do some extra jobs over
at Fort Lee sometimes. Once I got a
real part. The studio is shut down
now.

DENHAM
What’s you name?

ANN
Ann Darrow.

DENHAM
Are you one of these city gals who
screams at a mouse and faints at a
snake?

ANN
(laughing)
No, of course not. I’m a country
gal – or used to be.

                                   DENHAM
Listen, sister. I’ve got a job for
you. The costumes I’ve got on board
will fit you.
(looks at his watch)
The Broadway shops will still be
open. I’ll get you some clothes for
yourself. Come on.
ANN
But – but what is it?

DENHAM
(excited)
It’s money, and adventure, and
fame.
It’s the thrill of a lifetime. And
a long sea-voyage that starts at
six tomorrow morning.

 

                                   ANN
No! Wait, I can’t – I don’t
understand – you must tell me – I
do want the job so – I was starving
– but I can’t –
Denham has been looking at her, puzzled because she hasn’t
caught his frantic excitement. He suddenly sees what is
troubling her. He calms down and goes back and sits.

DENHAM
Oh, I see. You got me wrong. Nix,
sister, nix. This is strictly
business. I’m no chaser.

ANN
(meekly)
I only wanted to –

DENHAM
Sure. Sure you did. I got excited
and forgot you didn’t understand
it. Listen, I’m Carl Denham. Ever
hear of me?

ANN
Ye-es. Yes. You make moving
pictures. In jungles and places.

DENHAM
That’s right. And I’ve picked you
for the lead in my next picture. We
sail at six.

ANN
Where to?

DENHAM
A long way from here. Think, Ann, a
long voyage, easy living, the warm
blue sea, moonlight on the water –
isn’t that better than tramping New
York trying to keep out of the
gutter.

                                   ANN
(almost whispers)
Oh, yes.
DENHAM
I’m square, Ann. And I’ll be square
with you. No funny business.

ANN
What do I have to go?

DENHAM
(leaning over her chair
and looking straight at
her)
Trust me. And keep your chin up.

Ann looks at him for a moment, then he holds out his hand.

She takes it and they shake. FADE OUT.

   I can’t help it. My idea of a good time.
2 thoughts on “KING KONG. Hollywood at its Best.

Your opinions are welcome

