Poppies Crowding Vase


 Mahalia Poppies Crowding Vase     (oil on canvas, 25 X 20)

        There’s a spectacular garden on a bit of land near me, a sort of floating island that’s crisscrossed by paved roads now but was once connected to greater bodies of sagebrush, trees, and river. It is the oldest building in Carmel Valley. It was the pioneer’s Grange, it was the meeting place for cowpokes and their gals and wives and children. And Jack London slept there. And now it is deserted but for flora bunda.Poppies in Vase, 1                     The garden is spectacular in a way you’d have to do a disconnect somewhat from expectation of the Tuileries or English order. This garden has roamed and spread and died back and gone to seed and is on its own. It’s creator, Paul the rock sculptor and doctor died a few years back.  His legacy is a powerful gift for all who live to see it. I visit and trespass and transplant Paul’s brilliant work (with his son’s permission) to my own garden.  These poppies, photographed earlier on this blog, crowd with their voluptuous beauty into my glass vase, centered on my little patio and fill the air with their extraordinary perfume, their robust life, their glowing presence.

Then I painted it. 

10 thoughts on “Poppies Crowding Vase

    • Thank you so much! I’m delighted that you like this and stopped to say so. The photograph that was the inspiration is a couple of blogs back called “Central Coast’s Best Gallery~The Hawks Perch”, it’s at the top of the page. I have the feeling I put it in another one about the garden a little further back than that but I can’t remember.

  1. Yes, ‘muscular’. Simply divine. And a close look reveals the kind of rough vivid texture that I just love. (I think art historians call that ‘painterly’.) Wonderful!

    • Thank you John! There is a rough texture, lots of pigment. I am very fond of the loaded brush. And ‘painterly’ is a lovely compliment. This was my first painting done from the inside of my garden, though it is of the purloined poppy and not a resident, but visitor. I just love this flower.

    • Thanks so much, Vera. You know to me this is a very muscular flower, such a strong presence to it and it was like sculpting something to paint it. I love the thought of who might live within. I was checking the topsoil on a begonia once and said, Aha! and pulled out a frog! Both of us surprised. One of us hopped away.

    • Thank you, Kate. I’m afraid everything I see and do develops a background story. This is an especially nice one for me. I wish I’d talked to him more, he was a remarkably lovely man of gentle introspection who gave up his medical career and became an artist. Everyone who knew him praised his kindness and generosity of spirit, and all his plants remember him.

Your opinions are welcome

