BREAKING NEWS~SUSPECT RESPONDING; DAILY MAIL YES, WSJ NO


SUSPECT #2 (MAY BE) AWAKE AND RESPONDING TO QUESTIONS.WRITING OUT ANSWERS ABOUT OTHER CELLS AND BOMBS. BROTHERS HAD PLANNED SUICIDE PACT, NO EXPECTATION OF BEING CAUGHT ALIVE.

EXCEPT ONE OF THEM IS.

>>>says UK DAILY MAIL ~ READ FULL STORY<<<

ALSO…Conflicting Report, what would APPEAR to be a responsible thorough Wall Street Journal article, Suspect In and Out of Consciousness >>(HERE)<<

ALSO…From what I’ve read variously…Suspect #2 jammed gun in mouth, shot himself in throat before capture.  The inattentive Dartmouth College student not taught in Boston or the Taliban School for Bombs 101 that the brain is actually at the top of the skull front to back, best place to shoot to kill, and not the throat.

~~~~~~~~~~~~NOTE: We are living in times which grow curiouser and curiouser. Most Americans, with the startling exception of the mainstream media activists themselves, are somewhere between annoyed and furious at the sorry state of investigative journalism ~~ which no longer exists. Then this peculiar take, a NYTimes story about how heartbreaking it was that CNN got something wrong, and that the president wants CNN to get it right, too. I hadn’t noticed. CNN, ABC, NBC, CBS are famous for inventing flaming cars that weren’t, editing out salient bits of running sentences in high-profile cases, and announcing Supreme Court decisions that never happened. 

Then last night another ‘news’ story complaining about the jittery pace of Tweeted news and those dangerous inaccuracies, followed by instructions on how to Tweet responsibly!  If there were not such a constancy of dangerous inaccuracies from the big news outlets, Tweets wouldn’t even get mentioned. We are (witness the steady race for ever-new technology) all really hot for news anywhere any time. Reality TV is just a wrestling match of yore: the buff whoever in the blond wig gets the most Likes, reality be damned.

There’s a good half century of ridicule directed at Supermarket Tabloids which sometimes got the story right before anyone else, despite affections for headlines like the more recent Hillary Adopts Space Alien along with a photo of the happy pair. But little of THAT dismissive contempt is directed at the social media hysteria which names bomber and pedophiles arbitrarily and generously, without penalty. How come? 

My guess is that basically the Tweet crowd and the Reporters are cut from the same cloth and really good friends.  Whereas main industry reporters never made friends with the Enquirer or whoever else is reporting on six-headed children who have grown up to be rocket scientists, or showing housewives what a mongoose crossed with a Peruvian looks like.

For instance, I feel some level of responsibility for what I write here. I want to get it right. I also know I have a small audience not likely to take what’s here as perfect gospel. I try to avoid wild speculation and sheer fantasy (except in my painting), and direct readers back to the places I found a story in the first place so you can read more.  I think of what I’m writing in this blog as a kind of red flag for what may not be easily discovered, and a chance to express my opinion. I think that’s pretty obvious. I have no stake in being fair and balanced.

Contrary-wise, if the current crop of reporters treated their serious professional Constitutionally protected mandate to be first-eyes-and-ears-on-the-scene (and didn’t wash that through so many politically corrected false sieves and could see gossip for what it is), then Tweeters and stories about Woody Allen’s secret affair with Henry Kissinger wouldn’t make the front page on Monday and have to be retracted Tuesday.  (I just made that up, Woody and Henry are only friends).

8 thoughts on “BREAKING NEWS~SUSPECT RESPONDING; DAILY MAIL YES, WSJ NO

  1. Just a quick word of warning: please don’t take the Daily Mail as representative of the UK press as a whole; it is a vile, reactionary rag filled with bigotry and scarcely-concealed racism. We have more than our fair share of bad journalism in the UK (thanks in no small part to Rupert Murdoch, who you will have experienced through Fox), but the Daily Mail is the very worst publication of them all

    • Thanks for the heads-up.
      Frankly, I cannot name a reliable news source, in fact that’s a likely oxymoron.
      I’m practiced at dodging disinformation, and pay attention to what sounds screwy. I tend to go all over the lot in research, bear in mind the prejudices of the authors, and sort. I do have strong opinions, which can be altered with a good argument. I also believe there are absolute truths and reference Plato, Louis Caroll, and Sherlock Holmes for logic. And trust my instincts.
      It really is possible to weave one’s way through a mess of hidden agendas. Indeed, what is thought to be hidden can usually be found out.
      Glad you stopped by.

  2. Pingback: Words of Wisdom | ilghepardo

  3. I have reported one of your paragraphs on my blog under “Words of Wisdom”. I hope you do not mind. It is a quotable quote in my opinion. Vera
    ilghepardo.wordpress.com

    • Staying sane’s the tricky part of staying alive. I’ve gotten a lot out of combing websites and listening to radio reports on all this, and find it all quickly going from bad to worse. I’m pleased and touched my protests have met a like mind. Thank you.

Your opinions are welcome

