Garden Dance Class


Garden Dance Class, Oil on Linen

I began this with the central flowers and glass vase. Then with an eye to filling the canvas, went to the right. I’d been thinking about the extent to which classic dancers distort their bodies. I added the instructor. Then I thought about my youthful ballet/toe classes, and how in love you are with the shoes and movement and yourself when you dance. That led to the girls. The instructor (and they are sure not all) is happy benevolence, enjoying it all, including the happiness of her pupils.

2 thoughts on “Garden Dance Class

  1. Ms Barbara, You are definitely on a roll. Those kitties are my favorite. Amazing how memories come flooding back when you are where you need to be like your wonderful garden. Hugs, Bette

    • You’re right, Bette. I loved your visit so much, and the class. And that you loved my garden, too. We should do a switcheroo with bungalow/Big Sur house some day, like people do with ateliers in Paris for SF, except I’d get Paris and you’d get a figment.

Your opinions are welcome

